UCLA Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Homepage

Header image for Out Mission
Our Teams

Equity Advisors

In June 2014, all schools and academic units were asked to appoint an Equity Advisor, who would take leadership on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion within their institution. Distributed throughout the University, these Equity Advisors leverage their direct experience with local culture and climate to advise their deans in terms of strategy, policy, training, climate, and accountability.

Roles and responsibilities vary; however, many Equity Advisors play an important role in faculty training, monitoring the faculty search and other hiring processes, improving climate, and consulting on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion. Although Equity Advisors report directly to their deans, they also work closely with and provide invaluable advice to the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. They constitute the most important advisory council for the Office.

If you have a question, concern, or suggestion, please contact your local Equity Advisor.

Equity Advisor List

Charles Alexander

Undergraduate Education

Email: calexander@college.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-1551

Paul Barber

Life Sciences

Email: paulbarber@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-5349

Chandra Bhatnagar

Staff Diversity & Affirmative Action/EEO Compliance

Email: cbhatnagar@chr.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-0691

Heather Caruso

Management

Email: heather.caruso@anderson.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6729

Myung Hee Cho

Theater, Film & Television

Email: mcho@tft.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 267-2055

Albert Courey

Physical Sciences

Email: courey@chem.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2530

Robin Derby

International Institute

Email: derby@history.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 267-5461

Alina Dorian

Public Health

Email: adorian@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6965

Ben Refuerzo

Arts & Architecture

Email: Refuerzo@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2769

Cecilia Rios-Aguilar

Education & Information Studies

Email: rios-aguilar@gseis.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-1925

vacant

Graduate Education