To realize our mission to build equity for all, the Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) works with our invaluable affiliated partners:

Equity Advisors

Overview

In June 2014, all schools and academic units were asked to appoint an Equity Advisor, who would take leadership on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion within their institution. Distributed throughout the University, these Equity Advisors leverage their direct experience with local culture and climate to advise their deans in terms of strategy, policy, training, climate, and accountability.

Roles and responsibilities vary; however, many Equity Advisors play an important role in faculty training, monitoring the faculty search and other hiring processes, improving climate, and consulting on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion. Although Equity Advisors report directly to their deans, they also work closely with and provide invaluable advice to the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. They constitute an important advisory council for the Office.

If you have a question, concern, or suggestion, please contact your local Equity Advisor.

Members

Charles Alexander
Undergraduate Education
E-mail: calexander@college.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-1551

Onyebuchi Arah
Graduate Division
E-mail: arah@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-0050

Paul Barber
Life Sciences
E-mail: paulbarber@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-5349

Chandra Bhatnagar
Staff Diversity & Affirmative Action/EEO Compliance
E-mail: cbhatnagar@chr.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-0691

Scott Brandenberg
Engineering
E-mail: sjbrandenberg@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-9819

Heather Caruso
Management
E-mail: heather.caruso@anderson.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6729

Jennifer Chacon
Law
E-mail: chacon@law.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-3103

Albert Courey
Physical Sciences
E-mail: courey@chem.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2530

Robin Derby
International Institute
E-mail: derby@history.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 267-5461

Alina Dorian
Public Health
E-mail: adorian@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6965

Lynn Gordon
Medicine
E-mail: lgordon@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-2095

Edmond Hewlett
Dentistry
E-mail: ehewlett@dentistry.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-7097

Diana King
Library
E-mail: diking@library.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-4823

Deborah Koniak-Griffin
Nursing
E-mail: dkoniak@sonnet.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-3842

Michael Lens
Public Affairs
E-mail: mlens@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-1005

Muriel C. McClendon
Social Sciences
E-mail: mcclendo@history.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-3918

Carlo Medina
Library
E-mail: cmedina@library.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4732

Arturo O’Farrill
Music
E-mail: aofarrill@schoolofmusic.ucla.edu

Cecilia Rios-Aguilar
Education & Information Studies
E-mail: rios-aguilar@gseis.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-1925

Ellen Scott
Theater, Film & Television
E-mail: ecscott@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-3516

Jenny Sharpe
Humanities
E-mail: sharpe@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4173

Brett Trueman
Management
E-mail: brett.trueman@anderson.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4720

vacant
Arts & Architecture

Student Advisory Board 2020-2021

Overview

This past Spring we invited students to apply for the 2020-2021 Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Student Advisory Board. Each Board Member has a proven track record of caring deeply about equity and hustling to change the communities and institutions around them for the better. These students will serve as liaisons, problem solvers, and advocates who will support the Office’s mission of building equity for all.

➡ Learn more about the EDI Student Advisory Board

Members

Bella Stenvall
Senior | Dance Major and Arabic Major, Global Studies Minor

Delaney Ivey
Junior | Spanish, Community and Culture Major and Public Affairs Major

Desirae Barragan
Sophomore | Human Biology and Society Major and American Indian Studies Major

Jacob Eastlick
Senior | Sociology Major, LGBTQ Studies Minor and Public Affairs Minor

Jordan Williamson
1st Year | M.Ed. in Student Affairs, Graduate School of Education and Information Studies

Kaumron Eidgahy
Senior | Communication Major and Political Science Major: Race, Ethnicity, and Politics Concentration

Olivia Shearin
Senior | Physiological Sciences Major and Classical Civilizations Major

Paloma Bautista-Nicholas
Junior | Education and Social Transformation Major, Spanish Minor

Shu-Fan Chen
Junior | Human Biology and Society Major

Varina Clark
4th Year | M.D. Student, David Geffen School of Medicine

Viviana Vela
2nd Year | Ph.D. in Civil and Environmental Engineering, Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science

Vivica Rush
Senior | Political Science Major and African-American Studies Major