To realize our mission to build equity for all, the Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) works with our invaluable affiliated partners:

Equity Advisors

Overview

In June 2014, all schools and academic units were asked to appoint an Equity Advisor, who would take leadership on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion within their institution. Distributed throughout the University, these Equity Advisors leverage their direct experience with local culture and climate to advise their deans in terms of strategy, policy, training, climate, and accountability.

Roles and responsibilities vary; however, many Equity Advisors play an important role in faculty training, monitoring the faculty search and other hiring processes, improving climate, and consulting on matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion. Although Equity Advisors report directly to their deans, they also work closely with and provide invaluable advice to the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. They constitute an important advisory council for the Office.

If you have a question, concern, or suggestion, please contact your local Equity Advisor.

Members

Charles Alexander
Undergraduate Education
E-mail: calexander@college.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-1551

Onyebuchi Arah
Graduate Division
E-mail: arah@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-0050

Paul Barber
Life Sciences
E-mail: paulbarber@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-5349

Chandra Bhatnagar
Civil Rights Office
E-mail: cbhatnagar@chr.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-0691

Heather Caruso
Management
E-mail: heather.caruso@anderson.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6729

Jennifer Chun
International Institute
E-mail: jjchun@asianam.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 794-7780

Albert Courey
Physical Sciences
E-mail: courey@chem.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2530

Alina Dorian
Public Health
E-mail: adorian@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-6965

Noah Goldstein
Management
E-mail: noah.goldstein@anderson.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-1454

Cheryl Harris
Law
E-mail: harris@law.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4841

Edmond Hewlett
Dentistry
E-mail: ehewlett@dentistry.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-7097

Diana King
Library
E-mail: diking@library.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-4823

Robert Lucero
Nursing
E-mail: dkoniak@sonnet.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-4880

David McIntosh
Medicine
E-mail: dfmcintosh@mednet.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2253

Muriel C. McClendon
Social Sciences
E-mail: mcclendo@history.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-3918

Carlo Medina
Library
E-mail: cmedina@library.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4732

Arturo O’Farrill
Music
E-mail: aofarrill@schoolofmusic.ucla.edu

Lionel Popkin
Arts & Architecture
E-mail: lpopkin@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-1333

Cecilia Rios-Aguilar
Education & Information Studies
E-mail: rios-aguilar@gseis.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-1925

Veronica Santos
Engineering
E-mail: vjsantos@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-2125

Ellen Scott
Theater, Film & Television
E-mail: ecscott@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-3516

Jenny Sharpe
Humanities
E-mail: sharpe@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-4173

Christopher Zepeda Millan
Public Affairs
E-mail: czm@ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-7667



Student Advisory Board 2021-2022

Overview

This past Spring we invited students to apply for the 2021-2022 Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Student Advisory Board (SAB) to continue the SAB’s important work. Each Board Member has a proven track record of caring deeply about equity and hustling to change the communities and institutions around them for the better. These students will serve as liaisons, problem solvers, and advocates who will support the Office’s mission of building equity for all.

➡ Learn more about the EDI Student Advisory Board (SAB)

Members

Alex De Santiago
Junior | Political Science Major, Cognitive Science Minor

Aliyah Kazemaini
Senior | Political Science Major: International Relations Concentration, Iranian Studies Minor

Delaney Ivey
Senior | Public Affairs Major and Spanish, Community and Culture Major

Desirae Barragan
Junior | Human Biology and Society Major and American Indian Studies Major

Eliana Sisman
Sophomore | Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics Major

Iris Hong
Senior | Political Science Major, African American Studies Minor

Matthew Orihuela
Sophomore | Political Science Major

Paloma Bautista-Nicholas
Senior | Education and Social Transformation Major, Spanish Minor

Shu-Fan Chen
Senior | Human Biology and Society Major

Viviana Vela
3rd Year | Ph.D. Student in Civil and Environment Engineering, Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science

Yrvane Pageot
4th Year | Ph.D. Student in Health Psychology, College of Letters and Science